Information Systems Service Management (final exam sheet )

22 September ISSM 501 – Sample Questions for Mid-Semester Test and Final Exam What is the MAIN goal or purpose of availability management?
a) To monitor and report availability of components
b) To ensure that all targets in the service level agreements (SLAs) are met
c) To guarantee availability levels for services and components
d) To ensure that service availability meets the agreed needs of the business
2. Which of the following is NOT a phase of the service lifecycle?
a) Service optimization
b) Service transition
c) Service design
d) Service strategy
3. Which role should ensure that process documentation is current and available?
a) The service owner
b) The chief information officer
c) Knowledge management
d) The process owner
4. "Warranty of a service" means?
a) The service is fit for purpose
b) There will be no failures in applications and infrastructure associated with the service
c) All service-related problems are fixed free of charge for a certain period of time
d) Customers are assured of certain levels of availability, capacity, continuity and security
5. What is the role of the emergency change advisory board (ECAB)?
a) To assist the change manager in ensuring that no urgent changes are made during particularly volatile business periods
b) To assist the change manager by implementing emergency changes
c) To assist the change manager in evaluating emergency changes and to decide whether they should be approved
d) To assist the change manager in speeding up the emergency change process so that no unacceptable delays occur
6. Which of the following maintains relationships between all service components?
a) The capacity plan
b) The definitive media library
c) The configuration management system
d) A service level agreement
7. Where would you find the answer to a question about how IT resources and capabilities should be allocated across the service lifecycle?
a) Definitive media library
b) Service portfolio
c) Schedule of change
d) Performance review
8. Which of the following is a type of service level agreement (SLA) described in the ITIL service design publication?
a) Priority-based SLA
b) Technology-based SLA
c) Location-based SLA
d) Customer-based SLA
9. Providing a consistent and single source of Information for all services that are in operation or are prepared to be run operationally is the responsibility of which process?
a) Service Portfolio Management
b) Service Level Management
c) Service Catalog Management
d)Service Operation
10.Which of the core ITIL processes are intended for only external service providers?
a) Service Strategy
b) Service Transition
c) All except Service Strategy
d) None of the above.
Short Answer Questions
1. What are the three categories of the Service Portfolio?
-Service pipeline
-Service catalog
-Retired services
2. What should be contained in a business case?
A business case should contain a set of justifications necessary for starting a business. This entails the business benefits, their respective costs and impacts along with calculations of the financial case.
3. In the article written by Narges Shahsavarani and and Ji Shaobo title "Research in Information Technology Service Management (ITSM): Theoretical Foundation and Research Topic Perspectives" they noted the biggest challenge in ITSM implementation. What is that challenge?
The biggest challenge in ITSM implementation is the general lack of results or the failure to achieve the project goals.
4. What is an Operating Level Agreement and an Underpinning Contract?
Operating Level Agreement refers to an agreement between a service provider and respective internal resolver groups while an Underpinning contract entails an agreement between a service provider and a third party.
5. What is the difference between Service Portfolio Management and Service Catalog Management?
-Service Portfolio Management refers to the process applied in assembling the initial service design package for every service along with its maintenance details throughout the service life cycle. On the other hand, Service Catalog management refers to the process of consistent documentation of information regarding all the services agreed to all authorized users or persons.
6. Describe the Release and Deployment process?
This process begins by conceptual approval, which is used to build a service based on the set of approved design requirements. It is then followed by a plan for the release. The plan entails establishment of the fight group of people, products, process and performance. The third stage in this process is to build the Release based on the design and plan requirements. Test stage then follows. Test involves examining the Release to determine if it meets the targeted Design and Plan requirements. Based on the attestations that all the requirements have been satisfied the Approve stage is initiated. This approves the promotion of the service to production. The Deploy stage then takes place on the basis of the agreed schedule. Lastly, it is a review and close of the Release if successful.
7. What is contained in the Configuration Management system?
The configuration management system contains a set of well configured software modules used to support configuration, change and release management.
8. What are the three types of changes?
-Standard change
-Normal change
-Urgent change
9. No change should be released without what?
-Authorization by the change manager
10. What is the business value of Service Transition?
The business value of Service Transition is that it improves the quality of the process applied in implementation of a change. This is through ensuring that the targeted changes go hand in hand with the predefined business requirements.
Works cited
Morris, Helen, and Liz Gallacher. Itil Foundation Exam Study Guide. Chichester: John Wiley &amp. Sons Inc, 2012. Internet resource.